FITMENT LAB
FITMENT-VERIFIED

2005 BMW M3 COMPETITION PACKAGE · E46 · KNOWLEDGE CARD · SPECS READ 2026-09-18 · CATALOG VERIFIED SEP 4, 2026

2005 BMW M3 Competition Package — wheels, tires, fitment and brakes

IN SHORT

8 facts with a source, 9 marked missing. 5x120, 72.56 mm bore, 17–19-inch, ET20 to ET47; 7 listed wheel models pass the fitment gate. Nothing on this page is inferred: a row without a source says missing.

No manufacturer press document for the 2005 E46 M3 Competition Package was obtained on 2026-09-18 (BMW's archive was not reached; the wheel-maker guide rate-limited). Rows below are fixture-sourced and say so; the front rotor is CONFLICTING between the fixture (325 mm, the standard M3 disc) and secondary descriptions of the Competition Package (345 mm two-piece, from the M3 CSL) and is therefore shown as missing until a manufacturer sheet is held.

01Wheels

FACTVALUESOURCE
OE wheel, front8J × 19 ET47Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
OE wheel, rear9.5J × 19 ET27Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
Bolt pattern5×120Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
Hub bore72.56 mmFitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
Accepted offset rangeET20 to ET47Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
Minimum wheel diameter (brake clearance)17 inFitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
the fitment gate uses the fixture's 17-inch floor; if the 345 mm CSL disc is confirmed this floor must be re-checked

02Tires

FACTVALUESOURCE
OE tire, front225/40R19Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
OE tire, rear255/35R19Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (E46-ZCP): BMW E46 M3 brake spec as recorded; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide; retailer by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026
Load indexmissingmissing · Not held from a manufacturer document.
Speed ratingmissingmissing · Not held from a manufacturer document.
Tire pressure placardmissingmissing · Not read from a manufacturer document yet.

03Brakes

FACTVALUESOURCE
Front rotormissingconflicting — fixture: 325 × 28 mm (standard M3); secondary descriptions of the Competition Package: 345 mm two-piece (CSL brake). Unresolved — no manufacturer document held.
Front calipermissingmissing · Not held from a manufacturer document.
Rear rotormissingmissing · Not held from a manufacturer document.
Rear calipermissingmissing · Not held from a manufacturer document.
Pad shape, front (FMSI)missingmissing · FMSI pad shape not read from a brake maker's own catalog yet.
Pad shape, rear (FMSI)missingmissing · FMSI pad shape not read from a brake maker's own catalog yet.

325mm front rotors clear 17-inch wheels with most barrel shapes and every 18 and 19. Source: BMW E46 M3 brake spec; APEX E46 M3 fitment guide (18-inch square setups are the standard).

Brake clearance diagram: missing — no front rotor diameter held for this car.

04What fits (from the fitment gate)

7 listed models pass for the 2005 BMW M3 Competition Package; 12 have a maker reference image. Every one below was checked for bolt pattern, diameter, width, offset and brake clearance against the rows above.

STANCE · SEEN FROM ABOVE · HUB FACE AT 0 · OUTBOARD → hub mounting face OE 19×8 ET47 · 225/40R19 NEW 19×9 ET29 · 225/40R19 +30.7 mm outboard face vs OE (poke) inboard face: +5.3 mm vs OE (negative = closer to the suspension). Dashed band = tire section width at nominal size. Fender and suspension clearance are not in our data: this is geometry relative to OE, not a rub verdict.

05What almost fits, and why

DOES NOT FIT, AND WHY

06Tire sizes

OE 225/40R19 front / 255/35R19 rear. Listed alternates: 225/40R19, 235/35R19, 255/35R19, 265/30R19, 225/45R18, 235/40R18, 245/40R18, 255/40R18, 265/35R18, 275/35R18.

TIRE SIZE · DRAWN TO SCALE · DASHED = RIM 225/40R19 225/40R19 Ø 663 mm · sidewall 90 mm Ø 663 mm · sidewall 90 mm 0 % rolling diameter — within 3 % Speedometer reading 60 → actual 60 (0 %). Computed from nominal size; real tires vary by make.

07Pads — compounds by use, in the makers' own words

Street compounds bite from cold and dust less; track compounds need heat (Hawk's DTC ranges start at 400 °F) and are not listed for street. EBC says Yellowstuff is a street pad and that track use pushes past its 400 °C fade threshold. None of these makers publish a per-car pad recommendation here; per-car part numbers are missing until read from the maker's catalog.

COMPOUNDSTATED TEMPERATURESDUST / NOTESSOURCE
EBC Brakes Redstuff Ceramic
fast street; 'Race Use: No'
not stated'Dust Rating: Low' — 'reducing dust by 60–90%'
EBC: 'lowest dust fast street pad'; 'Nominal friction coefficient 0.5'; bed-in 'can be as long as 1000 miles'; ECE R90 approved (most part numbers).
EBC Brakes — Redstuff Ceramic Brake Pads
EBC Brakes Yellowstuff (4000 series)
fast street; not recommended by EBC for dedicated track use
fade threshold 400 °C (750 °F) — 'the maximum expected temperature in fast street driving'not stated as low dust
EBC: 'We no longer recommend Yellow for dedicated track use'; 'track conditions can push brake temperatures above 500–600 °C (1100 °F)'. R90 approved for street use in Europe.
EBC Brakes — EBC Yellowstuff Fast Street Brake Pads
Hawk Performance HPS 5.0
street ('High Performance Street')
100–750 °F operating; 100–550 °F optimalnot stated
Hawk: 'shorter stopping distances, improved performance under heavy braking conditions, and street car friendly characteristics'; not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — HPS 5.0
Hawk Performance HP+
'Ideal for Autocross' — low to mid temperature range; street + occasional track use per Hawk's placement
100–800 °F operating; 300–600 °F optimalnot stated
Not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — HP+
Hawk Performance DTC-60
motorsport — 'Sports Car/GT/GS, Open Wheel/Formula' among the listed series
400–1600 °F operating; 700–1100 °F optimalnot stated
Race compound; Hawk lists it for competition series, not street. Not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — DTC-60
Hawk Performance DTC-70
motorsport — 'extremely high torque and highly aggressive initial bite for cars with high deceleration rates'
400–1600 °F operating; 800–1200 °F optimalnot stated
Race compound; Hawk lists it as a split-friction partner with DTC-60. Not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — DTC-70

Per-car pad part numbers and FMSI shapes: missing — not yet read from a maker's catalog. Brake buy links: none shown; no verified retailer brake URL is held for this vehicle.

?Questions answered from this data

Open the app on this car → All answer pages →