FITMENT LAB
FITMENT-VERIFIED

2020 BMW M2 COMPETITION · F87 · KNOWLEDGE CARD · SPECS READ 2026-09-18 · CATALOG VERIFIED SEP 4, 2026

2020 BMW M2 Competition — wheels, tires, fitment and brakes

IN SHORT

15 facts with a source, 3 marked missing. 5x120, 72.56 mm bore, 19–20-inch, ET20 to ET45; 36 listed wheel models pass the fitment gate. Nothing on this page is inferred: a row without a source says missing.

Every row carries the source it was read from. A row with value null is missing: we hold no source for it and the card says so. Nothing here is inferred.

01Wheels

FACTVALUESOURCE
OE wheel, front9.0J × 19 ET29BMW Group PressClub — 'The new BMW M2 Competition. Specifications.' (PDF T0279885EN) · Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (F87-COMP), captured from the retailer's by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026 and the BMW M Compound brake part spec
“Rims, front/rear 9.0J x 19 LM / 10.0J x 19 LM”
9.0J x 19 LM (press spec sheet); ET29 from the fixture
OE wheel, rear10.0J × 19 ET40BMW Group PressClub — 'The new BMW M2 Competition. Specifications.' (PDF T0279885EN) · Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (F87-COMP), captured from the retailer's by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026 and the BMW M Compound brake part spec
10.0J x 19 LM (press spec sheet); ET40 from the fixture
Bolt pattern5×120Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (F87-COMP), captured from the retailer's by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026 and the BMW M Compound brake part spec
Hub bore72.56 mmFitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (F87-COMP), captured from the retailer's by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026 and the BMW M Compound brake part spec
Accepted offset rangeET20 to ET45Fitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (F87-COMP), captured from the retailer's by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026 and the BMW M Compound brake part spec
Minimum wheel diameter (brake clearance)19 inFitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (F87-COMP), captured from the retailer's by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026 and the BMW M Compound brake part spec
18-inch wheels do not clear the 400 mm front rotors

02Tires

FACTVALUESOURCE
OE tire, front245/35 ZR19 93YBMW Group PressClub — 'Specifications. BMW M2. M2 Competition.' (PDF T0286574EN)
“Tyres, front/rear 245/35 ZR19 93Y / 265/35 ZR19 98Y”
OE tire, rear265/35 ZR19 98YBMW Group PressClub — 'Specifications. BMW M2. M2 Competition.' (PDF T0286574EN)
Load index93 front / 98 rearBMW Group PressClub — 'Specifications. BMW M2. M2 Competition.' (PDF T0286574EN)
Speed ratingY (300 km/h)BMW Group PressClub — 'Specifications. BMW M2. M2 Competition.' (PDF T0286574EN)
Tire pressure placardmissingmissing · Not read from a manufacturer document yet — the door-jamb placard or owner's manual is the source; we do not guess pressures.

03Brakes

FACTVALUESOURCE
Front rotor400 mm, ventilatedBMW Group PressClub Canada — 'The first ever BMW M2 Competition' (19 Apr 2018)
“larger brake disks (front: 400 mm in diameter, rear: 380 mm in diameter)”
Front rotor thickness36 mmFitment fixture data/fitment-fixtures.json (F87-COMP), captured from the retailer's by-vehicle listing Sep 2 2026 and the BMW M Compound brake part spec
from the M Compound part spec recorded in the fixture (400x36); not in the press release
Front caliper6-piston fixedBMW Group PressClub Canada — 'The first ever BMW M2 Competition' (19 Apr 2018)
“front: 6-piston fixed and rear: 4-piston fixed”
Rear rotor380 mm, ventilatedBMW Group PressClub Canada — 'The first ever BMW M2 Competition' (19 Apr 2018)
Rear caliper4-piston fixedBMW Group PressClub Canada — 'The first ever BMW M2 Competition' (19 Apr 2018)
Pad shape, front (FMSI)missingmissing · FMSI pad shape not read from a brake maker's own catalog yet.
Pad shape, rear (FMSI)missingmissing · FMSI pad shape not read from a brake maker's own catalog yet.

M2 Competition's 400mm front rotors — 18-inch wheels do not clear (380mm rotor conversion required). Source: BMW M Compound front brake 400x36mm (P/N 34118072018, option 2NH). APEX lists 19 inches as the minimum for the M2 Competition; Tire Rack's by-vehicle results for the 2020 M2 Competition show 19 and 20-inch only.

BRAKE CLEARANCE · ROTOR VS NOMINAL RIM DIAMETER rotor Ø 400 mm rim 19" = 483 mm 41.3 mm radial room at the rim lip Minimum wheel for this car: 19" Caliper profile and the wheel's spoke and barrel depth are not in our data: this is diameter only, not a caliper clearance measurement.

04What fits (from the fitment gate)

36 listed models pass for the 2020 BMW M2 Competition; 12 have a maker reference image. Every one below was checked for bolt pattern, diameter, width, offset and brake clearance against the rows above.

STANCE · SEEN FROM ABOVE · HUB FACE AT 0 · OUTBOARD → hub mounting face OE 19×9 ET29 · 245/35R19 NEW 19×9 ET29 · 245/35R19 0 mm outboard face vs OE (same) inboard face: 0 mm vs OE (negative = closer to the suspension). Dashed band = tire section width at nominal size. Fender and suspension clearance are not in our data: this is geometry relative to OE, not a rub verdict.

05What almost fits, and why

DOES NOT FIT, AND WHY

06Tire sizes

OE 245/35R19 front / 265/35R19 rear. Listed alternates: 245/35R19, 255/35R19, 265/35R19, 275/35R19, 285/30R19, 245/30R20, 265/30R20, 275/30R20.

TIRE SIZE · DRAWN TO SCALE · DASHED = RIM 245/35R19 275/35R19 Ø 654 mm · sidewall 85.8 mm Ø 675 mm · sidewall 96.3 mm +3.2 % rolling diameter — over 3 % Speedometer reading 60 → actual 61.9 (+3.2 %). Computed from nominal size; real tires vary by make.

07Pads — compounds by use, in the makers' own words

Street compounds bite from cold and dust less; track compounds need heat (Hawk's DTC ranges start at 400 °F) and are not listed for street. EBC says Yellowstuff is a street pad and that track use pushes past its 400 °C fade threshold. None of these makers publish a per-car pad recommendation here; per-car part numbers are missing until read from the maker's catalog.

COMPOUNDSTATED TEMPERATURESDUST / NOTESSOURCE
EBC Brakes Redstuff Ceramic
fast street; 'Race Use: No'
not stated'Dust Rating: Low' — 'reducing dust by 60–90%'
EBC: 'lowest dust fast street pad'; 'Nominal friction coefficient 0.5'; bed-in 'can be as long as 1000 miles'; ECE R90 approved (most part numbers).
EBC Brakes — Redstuff Ceramic Brake Pads
EBC Brakes Yellowstuff (4000 series)
fast street; not recommended by EBC for dedicated track use
fade threshold 400 °C (750 °F) — 'the maximum expected temperature in fast street driving'not stated as low dust
EBC: 'We no longer recommend Yellow for dedicated track use'; 'track conditions can push brake temperatures above 500–600 °C (1100 °F)'. R90 approved for street use in Europe.
EBC Brakes — EBC Yellowstuff Fast Street Brake Pads
Hawk Performance HPS 5.0
street ('High Performance Street')
100–750 °F operating; 100–550 °F optimalnot stated
Hawk: 'shorter stopping distances, improved performance under heavy braking conditions, and street car friendly characteristics'; not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — HPS 5.0
Hawk Performance HP+
'Ideal for Autocross' — low to mid temperature range; street + occasional track use per Hawk's placement
100–800 °F operating; 300–600 °F optimalnot stated
Not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — HP+
Hawk Performance DTC-60
motorsport — 'Sports Car/GT/GS, Open Wheel/Formula' among the listed series
400–1600 °F operating; 700–1100 °F optimalnot stated
Race compound; Hawk lists it for competition series, not street. Not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — DTC-60
Hawk Performance DTC-70
motorsport — 'extremely high torque and highly aggressive initial bite for cars with high deceleration rates'
400–1600 °F operating; 800–1200 °F optimalnot stated
Race compound; Hawk lists it as a split-friction partner with DTC-60. Not compatible with carbon-ceramic rotors.
Hawk Performance — DTC-70

Per-car pad part numbers and FMSI shapes: missing — not yet read from a maker's catalog. Brake buy links: none shown; no verified retailer brake URL is held for this vehicle.

?Questions answered from this data

Open the app on this car → All answer pages →